Manage PermissionsManage Permissions

18/08/2020  Scholarship Signing Ceremony


23 undergraduates of Universiti Brunei Darussalam, UBD have been awarded Hengyi Industries Sendirian Berhad Scholarship. The Scholarship Signing Ceremony took place at The Empire Brunei.


Witnessing the signing ceremony was Dato Seri Paduka Awang Haji Matsatejo bin Sokiaw, Acting Minister of Energy. Signing on behalf of Hengyi Industries was Mr. Chen Lian Cai, Chief Executive Officer of the company. As part of the joint Scholarship Programme, the undergraduates will continue their studies and industrial training at Zhejiang University for a period of one and a half years. During the programme, the undergraduates will have the opportunity to gain valuable first-hand experience working in a real-life operational production plant during the six months internship at Hengyi Industries' petrochemical sites in China. Upon completion of the programme, the 23 undergraduates will be offered employment opportunities at Hengyi Industries Sendirian Berhad.


This marks the seventh batch of undergraduates to receive the scholarship under the Joint Chemical and Process Engineering Scholarship Programme established by Hengyi Industries, UBD and Zhejiang University which brings the total of awarded scholarships to 103. Since the inception of the scholarship programme, 57 undergraduates have completed their studies and joined Hengyi Industries' pool of professional workforce.  The programme is expected to produce another 11 graduates to be employed by September 2020. Also present were Her Excellency Yu Hong, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the People's Republic of China to Brunei  Darussalam; Datin Doctor Dayang Hajah Anita Binurul Zahrina binti Pehin Orang Kaya Laila Wijaya Dato Seri Setia Haji Awang Abdul Aziz, Vice Chancellor of UBD; and Awang Junaidi bin Haji Masri, Managing Director of Strategic Development Capital Fund as a representative of Damai Holdings Limited, the shareholder of Hengyi Industries Sendirian Berhad on behalf of the Government of Brunei Darussalam.