21/11/2022  Hung Parliament Due to PRU15 Results


The coalition of Malaysian political parties must submit the name of a member of the Dewan Rakyat who has the majority's trust to be the candidate for the 10th Prime Minister of Malaysia to the Istana Negara before 2 in the afternoon today. According to the Istana Negara official result document of the General Election, the 15th PRU submitted by the Chairman of the Election Commission, clearly stated that no political party managed to obtain a simple majority to form a new government. Therefore, the sixteenth Yang di-Pertuan Agong Malaysia ordered that party leaders and coalition leaders of political parties with a large number of seats must inform the Speaker of the House of Representatives for the formation of a new government.


Earlier, no single party or political coalition gained simple majority in Malaysia's 15th general election, according to the results released early Sunday on the website of the country's election commission, EC. A tightly contested election resulted in a hung parliament for the first time in its history. Of the major political coalitions contesting the 220 seats in the lower house of the parliament, Pakatan Harapan won 82, Perikatan Nasional won 73, Barisan Nasional won 30, and GPS, the group of parties from the northern Borneo state of Sarawak, won 22, according to the EC. Local political analysts held that no party will govern alone, and Malaysia's new government will be formed through a coalition of different parties.